And now they’re gone…

Just like that, 2 years later, 9 donor egg (DE) embryos are gone and we still don’t have a baby. Somewhere in the realm of $75,000 gone…no baby. Hundreds of injections, ultrasounds, blood tests, painful exams…no baby. It’s hard to describe the feeling, to be honest. I do still cry at every failure, but it’s less and less every time. It’s more of a numb feeling now. Although, it was more difficult this time after the last one worked. I finally got to see those positive tests, and they gave me hope that I had lost long ago. So when they all turned up stark white again this time, it hit hard. Many didn’t know we did another cycle. After a certain point, it just sucks to talk about. Using an egg donor was supposed to solve our problem. Until I finally got away from the old shitty dr and the amazing new dr gave us the actual, painful truth…the embryos just weren’t good. They didn’t look at all like DE embryos should. The fact is, we’ll never know why. It could have been the eggs, the sperm, or the lab. I tend to think it was the lab, but I have a very dark opinion of that clinic and dr after wasting so much time and money there, so I might just be projecting that onto them. At this point, it doesn’t matter. The embryos that were created with such love are gone, and we’re left empty handed.

Along with the empty handed comment…our due date is coming up. At the time, our due date being on Thanksgiving Day seemed exceptionally appropriate and amazing. Now that our baby is in heaven and won’t be joining us here, it just ruins Thanksgiving. I’m fairly certain I won’t want to get out of bed, as I already feel the sadness growing the closer we get to it. We plan on getting Chinese food and spending the day together, just us. I have a wonderfully sweet friend who is going to have Thanksgiving dinner on that Friday for us, so we still get a Thanksgiving…just postponed until the next day. 🧡🦃

So, what comes next? Well, we’re working on that. There are many things to consider and many conversations to be had. We will be parents one way or another, just still working out those details. If we happen to cross your mind on Thanksgiving, we’d love for you to send some love our way. ❤️

Much love,

Michelle

Leave a comment